Frizzy Hair: The Battle Never Dies!

Today was soo unbelievably hot.

I don’t know what’s going on with the weather in Singapore. At work, the sun shines extra brightly nowadays at 10am to the point I really need to wind down the blinds or I’m blind at the computer screen!

Ít doesn’t help that my hair is soo curly it can’t survive much in humid weather. I bet all of you in Asia with naturally wavy or curly hair felt the same way I did at some point in time – DOOMED.

I’m serious!! Growing up, every kid in primary school had perfectly straight hair. Even if it was the slightly wavy, you were still classified as having ‘straight hair’. It was ridiculous that your social status could be KILLED  based on your bloody hair!

And here comes along the dorky half-black kid with intensely curly hair who staggered the balance of the Asian straight-hair kids in the school bus.

Sporting a ‘fro yo!

For some of you, you may think this is racist but let’s face it. .We’re not really living in racial harmony alright; racism can start as young as 7.

That aside, I tried everything to make my hair straighter or AT LEAST less frizzy cos the frizz flew everywhere and tripled the size of my ponytail!

I tried waxes, gels, creams, olive oil, coconut oil, serums, mayonaise (worst advice ever given), organic products, branded, not branded, salon brands, Japanese brands, Korean brands, American brands……basicly, everything that Watsons and Guardian stores could provide, I have tried them all.   

I even tried the Wella DIY Hair Straightener a.k.a THE DESTROYER.

Ladies and very vain gentlemen, do not EVER do a DIY relaxer. I had to do so many steam treatments to get my hair back to it”s original state. NOT WORTH IT.

Finally, someone told me in poly that it’s not that my hair was unhealthy or it didn’t have the right nutrients. The way curly hair behaves (yes, it has a mind of its own okay) is very much dependant on the weather as well and it DOES NOT SUIT WELL TO HUMID WEATHER.

Bloody hell I’m in Singapore – HUMID WEATHER CENTRAL.

So…I hunted the whole of Singapore looking for ways to keep the hair down and I found *drum roll please*

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Redken Fresh Curls Curl Refiner (Leave-In Conditioner)!!!! This baby saved my poor dry curls and gave it back the moisture it needed. It was produced SPECIFICALLY for humid weather!!!!!!!

Leave-in Condtioner, don’t worry. I’m gonna bring your whole family on board to my house so you don’t get lonely. Now that I found you, I can honestly say, I dont care if the wind flips my hair upside down. The curls dont ever turn into frizz.

Comments
6 Responses to “Frizzy Hair: The Battle Never Dies!”
  1. You are too cute and too funny! Are people constantly laughing around you? I would love for you to guest post on my site. Thanks for submitting your posts to my “staying young from the inside out” blog carnival. You’re PERFECT!

  2. For me, the Sedu Tourmaline Revolution styling iron performed like a professional grade iron, so I’m perfectly pleased with it “‘*

  3. Good day! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  4. Thank you for one more crucial article. Exactly where else could any individual get that type of info in this kind of a full way of writing? I have a presentation incoming week, and I am on the lookout for such details.

  5. Edda Treece says:

    Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem with your website in internet explorer, would test this… IE still is the market leader and a big portion of people will miss your excellent writing due to this problem.

Leave a Reply

